SAEA ORGANIZED SYMPOSIUM

 

ORGANIZERS:

 

Parr Rosson                  Texas A&M Agrilife

Flynn Adcock               Dept. of Agricultural Economics

(979) 845-3070            2124 TAMU

prosson@tamu.edu       College Station , TX 77843-2124

 

 

TITLE: The Doha Development Agenda: Where are We and Where are We Going?

 

ABSTRACT: Amidst several starts and stops, most nations continue the multilateral-trade negotiating process through the Doha Development Agenda of the World Trade Organization. The negotiations focus on the areas of increased market access for agricultural products, decreasing levels of domestic agricultural support, and the reduction and elimination of export subsidies. The current status of the negotiations and their relevance for U.S. agriculture will be presented in this symposium. Implications for applied research and extension education will be discussed.

 

MODERATOR:

Lynn Kennedy, Louisiana State University, lkennedy@agcenter.lsu.edu

 

PARTICIPANTS:

Parr Rosson, Texas Agrilife Extension Service, prosson@tamu.edu, Stanley Fletcher,

University of Georgia, smf@uga.edu, and Mickey Paggi, California State University-Fresno,

mpaggi@csufresno.edu

“Current Status of the Doha Development Agenda”

 

Darren Hudson, Mississippi State University, hudson@agecon.msstate.edu, and Flynn

Adcock, Texas Agrilife Research, fjadcock@tamu.edu

“The Importance of Increased Market Access to Southern Agriculture”

 

Jaime Malaga and Sam Mohanty, Texas Tech University, jaime.malaga@ttu.edu and

sam.mohanty@ttu.edu

“The Potential Impacts of Changes in Export Competition Policies”

 

Larry Sanders, Oklahoma State University, larry.sanders@okstate.edu, and Jim Novak,

Auburn University, jnovak@acesag.auburn.edu

“Implications of WTO Compliance and Environmental Policy for U.S. Farm Programs”

 

RESPONDENT:

Eric Wailes, University of Arkansas, ewailes@comp.uark.edu

 

FORMAT: Kennedy will introduce the topic and moderate the symposium. Each of four speakers will be given 15 minutes present their topic. Wailes will respond to the presentations and set the stage for and interactive discussion, which should last at least 30 minutes. Participation from attendees will be invited and encouraged.