SAEA ORGANIZED SYMPOSIUM

 

ORGANIZERS:

Flynn Adcock                           Texas A&M Agrilife

Parr Rosson                             Dept. of Agricultural Economics

(979) 845-8694                       2124 TAMU

fjadcock@tamu.edu                 College Station, TX 77843-2124

 

TITLE: The Impacts of U.S. Trade Policies on Southern Agriculture

 

ABSTRACT: The United States utilizes a variety of trade policies. These include the multilateral trade negotiating process and the WTO, regional and bilateral trade agreements, and unilateral policy options such as the Generalized System of Preferences. This symposium will address changes to these categories of policies and their impacts U.S. agriculture, including the trade of agricultural products. Major implications for the development of applied research and extension programs will be identified.

 

MODERATOR:

Jim Novak, Auburn University, jnovak@acesag.auburn.edu

 

PARTICIPANTS:

Mickey Paggi, California State University-Fresno, mpaggi@csufresno.edu

“The Impacts of the World Trade Organization on U.S. Agriculture and Agricultural Policy”

 

Parr Rosson, Texas Agrilife Extension Service, prosson@tamu.edu

“The Economic Impacts of Regional and Bilateral Trade Agreements on Agriculture”

 

Lynn Kennedy, Louisiana State University, lkennedy@agcenter.lsu.edu, and Flynn Adcock, Texas Agrilife Research, fjadcock@tamu.edu

“Unilateral Trade Policies and Southern Agriculture”

 

RESPONDENT:

Jaime Malaga, Texas Tech University, jaime.malaga@ttu.edu

 

FORMAT: Novak will introduce the topic and moderate the symposium. Each of three speakers will be given 15 to 20 minutes present their topic. Malaga will respond to the presentations and set the stage for and interactive discussion, which should last at least 30 minutes. Participation from attendees will be invited and encouraged.